top of page

Fleetwood Wilderness Lite = DONE!

Well, since starting almost a year ago, I finally got her rolling the weekend before Christmas. We wanted to take her to the in-laws to do some driveway squatting while visiting them for the holidays. Some things are not quite finished and I figured out some things I would like to rework.

On her first trip, we pulled her over 300 miles with the only major mishap being the bottom pane of glass on the front jalousie window fell out somewhere between Fort Payne and Chattanooga. Daddy and Sister were following behind us, just for moral support and because Daddy likes to ride, so she ran ahead of me and bought some duct tape for a quick repair, because it rained the whole way there.

After we arrived at the in-laws, my husband's dad helped me fashion a replacement out of a Rubbermaid tub lid. It worked really well.

My biggest concern was the fact I did not have a spare. I had put new tires on her and I kept one of the old tires and threw it in the back of the truck, so if we did have a flat, I could at least have a tire to put on, since finding a size 13 isn't always easy. I did find one rim on the internet for sale, but it was about $100 and at this point I think it would be just as cost effective to drop a new set of axles underneath her.

The first night was cold!!! We had a space heater with a timer, but did not realize that it was set to shut off in 1 hour, so we had icicles hanging off our nose the next morning.


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page